top of page

Love In Detail

Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy

DIY Vinyl Transfer

One of my most popular products is the vinyls for making personalised wedding hangers. If you're happy with a bit of DIY, buying vinyls rather than completed products is a great way of saving a bit of money.


By sourcing things like wooden hangers or champagne flutes yourself, you can avoid mark ups on the cost price. Also, as a maker, creating just the vinyls rather than the whole product doesn't take as long, and so I'm able to charge less for my time (not to mention they're much cheaper to ship - no one likes crazy postage costs).


I include transfer instructions on all my vinyl listings, but below are some tips and process videos on how to apply them for anyone who finds visual tutorials easier to follow.



To start, you'll need your vinyl design, a piece of transfer tape, and something to use to smooth things down. I use my Cricut scraper but a plastic card will also work just fine.

First of all, peel your transfer tape from it's backing and place over your vinyl. This is where you'll want to use a card to smooth the tape over your design to remove any air bubbles and ensure it's stuck firmly enough to lift the vinyl.


Now peel your transfer tape away, making sure the vinyl comes with it. If the vinyl stays stuck to the backing, smooth over it again firmly with a card or scraper.


Once you've done this, you're ready to place it onto your item. This is where the grid on the tape really comes in handy with getting everything straight. Place your decal where you want it, and smooth over it firmly. I usually find doing this with my hands is enough. You can then peel away the transfer tape, leaving your vinyl behind.


Tip: I've found that keeping the tape low and pulling it back on itself, rather than up and away from the hanger, is a more effective way of making sure the vinyl doesn't come off with it (as demonstrated in the video above).


I hope you find this tutorial useful but as always, feel free to drop me a message if you have any questions! You can find my vinyl products via the link below-


https://www.etsy.com/shop/loveindetailstore?section_id=24334705


Amy x


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page